Skip to content

anchorage

16 April 2013

You may have noticed that, in recent months, I’ve taken to posting quotations rather than thoughts of my own. There are a number of reasons for this, but I suppose the biggest is that I haven’t known what else to put up.

A big part of why I started this blog in the first place was in hopes of generating conversation with others, but that hasn’t really happened, at least not in the way I anticipated. Although, the more I think about it, the more I think that “conversation” on a computer screen isn’t what I was really after, after all.

So, after one hundred posts (exactly!), I have decided that the voyages of the Bark Endeavour II have come to an end. This doesn’t mean I intend to stop writing. Quite the contrary. But I don’t feel like the things I am writing now fit this particular medium. The metaphor has run its course, so to speak.

If there’s a unifying theme to everything I’ve written here, I suppose it would be “discovery,” which, in one sense or another, is the theme of adolescence. Now, I’ve reached the point where it is time to leave adolescence behind and begin a new chapter.

To those of you who have traveled with me here over the last three and a half years, thank you for your company.

I leave you with a quote from T.S. Eliot. (You knew it was going to be something by either him or Kierkegaard, that most cerebral adolescent.) It’s one I’ve used before, but I couldn’t think of anything more fitting if I tried.

We shall not cease from exploration
And the end of all our exploring
Will be to arrive where we started
And know the place for the first time.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Deede permalink
    16 April 2013 6:54 am

    Thanks for sharing this journey with us, Aleithia! It has been a pleasure to read.

  2. 16 April 2013 8:16 am

    I will miss your thoughts, Aleithia. God’s blessings on your journey.

  3. hisvoicer permalink
    16 April 2013 8:17 am

    This volume has been rich. Looking forward to the next installment. I would love to follow your insightful adventures wherever they lead you. LYF

  4. Rebecca permalink
    16 April 2013 2:25 pm

    I hope you will continue to share what you write, somewhere! I’ve really enjoyed following your journey. Bon Voyage!

  5. Dan & Carol permalink
    20 April 2013 4:19 pm

    You’ve been a good teacher.

  6. Grandma permalink
    24 April 2013 10:35 am

    I haven’t been a frequent traveler with you dear, but I shall always be interested in your thoughts and interests. Like your mom I shall look fwd to any new thoughts you wish to share. Sharing our thoughts and getting feedback from others is always important in this life. Sadly life is moving at such a pace these days that even those of us who like to check your latest blogs have not always succeeded in doing so. It is m ore a lack of time than lack of interest or caring. However, life moves along quickly and we change with it so congratulations on all you’ve shared over the years and i hope your future is full of interesting people and places and thoughts. Much love.

  7. Pamela permalink
    3 May 2013 5:01 pm

    Aleithia! Hi, it’s your friend Pamela (Eustace) Evans. I noticed a while ago you weren’t on facebook anymore and I wasn’t sure how to get in touch. Then I was browsing my old xanga page and found your blog, which linked to this. I hope you are doing well. My youngest sister is a freshman at CU now and I was able to attend her last class with Dr. Mills last week.

    We should definitely keep in touch better. 🙂

  8. barkendeavourii permalink*
    11 May 2013 2:46 am

    Hello Pamela, very nice to hear from you!! Yes, we should catch up. Send me your e-mail: ajburgess41@gmail.com.

Leave a comment